Button Moon

Button Moon (1980)

  • Genre: Family, Sci-Fi & Fantasy
  • Creator: Ian Allen
  • First Air Date: 1980-12-08
  • Last Air Date: 1988-11-17
  • Total Seasons: 7
  • Total Episodes: 87
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 10 min.
  • Networks: ITV1
star 7/10
From 9 Ratings


Button Moon is a quirky, popular children's television programme broadcast in the United Kingdom in the 1980s on the ITV Network. Thames Television produced each episode, which lasted ten minutes and featured the adventures of Mr. Spoon who, in each episode, travels to Button Moon in his homemade rocket-ship. All of the characters within the show are based on kitchen utensils, as well as many of the props. Once on Button Moon, which hangs in "blanket sky", they have an adventure, and look through Mr. Spoon's telescope at someone else such as the Hare and the Tortoise, before heading back to their home on 'Junk Planet'. Episodes also include Mr. Spoon's wife, "Mrs. Spoon", their daughter, "Tina Tea-Spoon" and her friend "Eggbert". The series ended in 1988 after 91 episodes.

  • Keywords: moon, space travel, spoon, rocket ship
  • Button Moon Trailer

    Is Button Moon on Netflix?

    Is Button Moon on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Button Moon Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1980-12-08
    13 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1981-12-29
    13 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1983-10-05
    13 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1985-01-30
    13 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 1986-01-07
    12 Episodes

    Season 6

    First Air Date: 1987-01-06
    10 Episodes

    Season 7

    First Air Date: 1988-09-08
    13 Episodes

    Button Moon Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Three Little Pigs11 min
    Season 1Episode 2The Witch's Toast11 min
    Season 1Episode 3Billy Goat's Gruff11 min
    Season 1Episode 4Sid and Baby11 min
    Season 1Episode 5The Three Wishes11 min
    Season 1Episode 6Storks11 min
    Season 1Episode 7Tin-Who-Tea-What11 min
    Season 1Episode 8Scruffy and the Bone11 min
    Season 1Episode 9The Grasshopper and the Ants11 min
    Season 1Episode 10The Magic Wand11 min
    Season 1Episode 11The Hare and the Tortoise11 min
    Season 1Episode 12The Fox and the Hen11 min
    Season 1Episode 13House for Sale11 min
    Season 2Episode 1A Witch Comes to Stay11 min
    Season 2Episode 2The Caterpillar Who Loved His Greens11 min
    Season 2Episode 3The New Canoe11 min
    Season 2Episode 4The Biggest Tomato in the World11 min
    Season 2Episode 5Scruffy and the Sparrow11 min
    Season 2Episode 6The Dragon Has a Cold11 min
    Season 2Episode 7The Flying Jam Sandwich11 min
    Season 2Episode 8The Persian Market11 min
    Season 2Episode 9Music in the Air11 min
    Season 2Episode 10Scruffy at the Seaside11 min
    Season 2Episode 11The Little Red Hen11 min
    Season 2Episode 12Getting Away with It All11 min
    Season 2Episode 13The Nose That Went Honk11 min
    Season 3Episode 1Looking for Button Moon11 min
    Season 3Episode 2Tina Teaspoon and the School Mouse11 min
    Season 3Episode 3A Day Trip to Button Moon11 min
    Season 3Episode 4Shoebox Station11 min
    Season 3Episode 5Two Sticky Mugs11 min
    Season 3Episode 6Button Hole Pond11 min
    Season 3Episode 7The Scouts' Garden Fete11 min
    Season 3Episode 8Queenie Jelly11 min
    Season 3Episode 9Painting the Pipes11 min
    Season 3Episode 10Freddy Teddy11 min
    Season 3Episode 11The Clown Who Lost His Smile11 min
    Season 3Episode 12Happy Birthday Mrs. Spoon11 min
    Season 3Episode 13Bundle and Fluff11 min
    Season 4Episode 1Egbert Goes to Button Moon11 min
    Season 4Episode 2The Spaceship Breaks Down11 min
    Season 4Episode 3Playing Games on Button Moon11 min
    Season 4Episode 4The Gravy Boat11 min
    Season 4Episode 5Sticky Sweets11 min
    Season 4Episode 6Picnic on Button Moon11 min
    Season 4Episode 7The Cake Fairy Goes Ice Skating11 min
    Season 4Episode 8Rag Doll Marries a Dinosaur11 min
    Season 4Episode 9Egbert Goes Camping11 min
    Season 4Episode 10Banana Birds11 min
    Season 4Episode 11Pink and Purple Dinosaur11 min
    Season 4Episode 12The Shark in the Bath11 min
    Season 4Episode 13The Paper Parade11 min
    Season 5Episode 1A Hole in Blanket Sky11 min
    Season 5Episode 2Egbert Wants to Help11 min
    Season 5Episode 3Tutti Frutti Ice Cream11 min
    Season 5Episode 4Granny Spoon and the Missing Apple Pie11 min
    Season 5Episode 5Rain Stopped Play11 min
    Season 5Episode 6Bottle Party11 min
    Season 5Episode 7Paperchase on Button Moon11 min
    Season 5Episode 8Winter Sports for the Frozen Vegetables11 min
    Season 5Episode 9Ding a Ling Ice Cream11 min
    Season 5Episode 10Blue Button Moon11 min
    Season 5Episode 11Crazy Games11 min
    Season 5Episode 12The Royal Handkerchief Ballet11 min
    Season 5Episode 13The Holiday Weekend11 min
    Season 6Episode 1The Good Luck Bird11 min
    Season 6Episode 2Hose on Charlie's Nose11 min
    Season 6Episode 3Planet Doughnut11 min
    Season 6Episode 4Rag Doll Has a Cold11 min
    Season 6Episode 5Honeymoon11 min
    Season 6Episode 6Mrs. Spoon's Jumble Sale11 min
    Season 6Episode 7Buttonhole Pond11 min
    Season 6Episode 8Missing Martha Muggins11 min
    Season 6Episode 9Barn Dance11 min
    Season 6Episode 10Bobbing Bottle11 min
    Season 6Episode 11Cows on Button Moon11 min
    Season 6Episode 12Cinders and the Magic Beans11 min
    Season 6Episode 13Queenie Jelly Loses Her Cherries11 min
    Season 7Episode 1Button Moon Boat Race11 min
    Season 7Episode 2Vacuum Cleaner for Sale11 min
    Season 7Episode 3Benny Bin11 min
    Season 7Episode 4Little Bottle Floats Away11 min
    Season 7Episode 5Button Moon Talent Show11 min
    Season 7Episode 6Mr. and Mrs. Spoon's Anniversary11 min
    Season 7Episode 7Mice Play on Button Moon11 min
    Season 7Episode 8Dotty Teapot11 min
    Season 7Episode 9Rag Doll Moves House11 min
    Season 7Episode 10What's the Matter with Marrow?11 min
    Season 7Episode 11Egbert's Birthday11 min
    Season 7Episode 12Cold Cows on Button Moon11 min
    Season 7Episode 13The Snoring Princess11 min
    Season 7Episode 14Goodbye Button Moon11 min
    Production Stan Woodward Producer
    Production Charles Warren Executive Producer