Are You Being Served?

Are You Being Served? (1972)

  • Genre: Comedy
  • Creator: David Croft, Jeremy Lloyd
  • First Air Date: 1972-09-08
  • Last Air Date: 1985-04-01
  • Total Seasons: 10
  • Total Episodes: 69
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Production Company: BBC
  • Production Country: United Kingdom, Netherlands
  • Networks: BBC One
star 7.1/10
From 78 Ratings


This comedy series, which follows the exploits of employees at London's fictional "Grace Brothers" department store, is full of sexual innuendo, slapstick, visual gags, and double entendres. Much of the show's humor parodies Britain's class system, and many of the show's characters are based on stereotypes of the period, including the effeminate Mr. Humphries and the rich, but stingy, store owner.

  • Keywords: department store, camp, sitcom, workplace comedy
  • Are You Being Served? Trailer

    Is Are You Being Served? on Netflix?

    Is Are You Being Served? on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Are You Being Served? Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date: 1992-01-18
    17 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1972-09-08
    6 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1974-03-14
    5 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1975-02-27
    9 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1976-04-08
    7 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 1977-02-25
    7 Episodes

    Season 6

    First Air Date: 1978-11-15
    6 Episodes

    Season 7

    First Air Date: 1979-10-19
    8 Episodes

    Season 8

    First Air Date: 1981-04-09
    8 Episodes

    Season 9

    First Air Date: 1983-04-22
    6 Episodes

    Season 10

    First Air Date: 1985-02-18
    7 Episodes

    Are You Being Served? Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Pilot30 min
    Season 1Episode 2Dear Sexy Knickers30 min
    Season 1Episode 3Our Figures are Slipping30 min
    Season 1Episode 4Camping In30 min
    Season 1Episode 5His and Hers30 min
    Season 1Episode 6Diamonds are a Man's Best Friend30 min
    Season 2Episode 1The Clock30 min
    Season 2Episode 2Cold Comfort30 min
    Season 2Episode 3The Think Tank30 min
    Season 2Episode 4Big Brother30 min
    Season 2Episode 5Hoorah for the Holidays30 min
    Season 3Episode 1The Hand of Fate30 min
    Season 3Episode 2Coffee Morning30 min
    Season 3Episode 3Up Captain Peacock30 min
    Season 3Episode 4Cold Store30 min
    Season 3Episode 5Wedding Bells30 min
    Season 3Episode 6German Week30 min
    Season 3Episode 7Shoulder to Shoulder30 min
    Season 3Episode 8New Look30 min
    Season 3Episode 9Christmas Crackers30 min
    Season 4Episode 1No Sale30 min
    Season 4Episode 2Top Hat and Tails30 min
    Season 4Episode 3Forward Mr. Grainger30 min
    Season 4Episode 4Fire Practice30 min
    Season 4Episode 5Fifty Years On30 min
    Season 4Episode 6Oh What a Tangled Web30 min
    Season 4Episode 7The Father Christmas Affair30 min
    Season 5Episode 1Mrs. Slocombe Expects30 min
    Season 5Episode 2A Change is as Good as a Rest30 min
    Season 5Episode 3Founder's Day30 min
    Season 5Episode 4The Old Order Changes30 min
    Season 5Episode 5Take-Over30 min
    Season 5Episode 6Goodbye Mr. Grainger30 min
    Season 5Episode 7It Pays to Advertise30 min
    Season 6Episode 1By Appointment30 min
    Season 6Episode 2The Club30 min
    Season 6Episode 3Do You Take This Man?30 min
    Season 6Episode 4Shedding the Load30 min
    Season 6Episode 5A Bliss Girl30 min
    Season 6Episode 6Happy Returns30 min
    Season 7Episode 1The Junior30 min
    Season 7Episode 2Strong Stuff, This Insurance30 min
    Season 7Episode 3The Apartment30 min
    Season 7Episode 4Mrs. Slocombe, Senior Person30 min
    Season 7Episode 5The Hero30 min
    Season 7Episode 6Anything You Can Do30 min
    Season 7Episode 7The Agent30 min
    Season 7Episode 8The Punch and Judy Affair30 min
    Season 8Episode 1Is It Catching?30 min
    Season 8Episode 2A Personal Problem30 min
    Season 8Episode 3Front Page Story30 min
    Season 8Episode 4Sit Out30 min
    Season 8Episode 5Heir Apparent30 min
    Season 8Episode 6Closed Circuit30 min
    Season 8Episode 7The Erotic Dreams of Mrs. Slocombe30 min
    Season 8Episode 8Roots?30 min
    Season 9Episode 1The Sweet Smell of Success30 min
    Season 9Episode 2Conduct Unbecoming30 min
    Season 9Episode 3Memories are Made of This30 min
    Season 9Episode 4Calling All Customers30 min
    Season 9Episode 5Monkey Business30 min
    Season 9Episode 6Lost and Found30 min
    Season 10Episode 1Goodbye Mrs. Slocombe30 min
    Season 10Episode 2Grounds for Divorce30 min
    Season 10Episode 3The Hold Up30 min
    Season 10Episode 4Gambling Fever30 min
    Season 10Episode 5The Night Club30 min
    Season 10Episode 6Friends and Neighbours30 min
    Season 10Episode 7The Pop Star30 min
    • Frank Thornton

      as Captain Peacock
    • John Inman

      as Mr. Humphries
    • Mollie Sugden

      as Mrs. Slocombe
    • Wendy Richard

      as Miss Brahms
    • Nicholas Smith

      as Mr. Rumbold
    • Mike Berry

      as Mr. Spooner
    • Arthur English

      as Mr. Harman
    Production David Croft Producer