Birds of a Feather

Birds of a Feather (1989)

  • Genre: Comedy, Drama
  • Creator: Maurice Gran, Laurence Marks
  • First Air Date: 1989-10-16
  • Last Air Date: 2016-02-25
  • Total Seasons: 12
  • Total Episodes: 126
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Production Company: BBC
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Networks: BBC One, ITV1
star 6.0/10
From 21 Ratings


Birds of a Feather is a British sitcom that was broadcast on BBC One from 1989 until 1998 and on ITV from 2013. Starring Pauline Quirke, Linda Robson and Lesley Joseph, it was created by Laurence Marks and Maurice Gran, who also wrote some of the episodes along with many other writers. The first episode sees sisters Tracey Stubbs and Sharon Theodopolopodos brought together when their husbands are sent to prison for armed robbery. Sharon, who lived in an Edmonton council flat, moves into Tracey's expensive house in Chigwell, Essex. Their next-door neighbour, and later friend, Dorien Green is a middle-aged married woman who is constantly having affairs with younger men. In the later series the location is changed to Hainault. The series ended on Christmas Eve 1998 after a 9-year-run.

  • Keywords: prison, wife, sister, marriage, neighbor, suburb, husband, council estate, sitcom, armed robbery
  • Birds of a Feather Trailer

    Is Birds of a Feather on Netflix?

    Is Birds of a Feather on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Birds of a Feather Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date: 2016-12-24
    3 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1989-10-16
    7 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1990-09-06
    16 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1991-08-31
    13 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1992-09-13
    14 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 1993-09-05
    14 Episodes

    Season 6

    First Air Date: 1994-09-18
    15 Episodes

    Season 7

    First Air Date: 1997-03-26
    11 Episodes

    Season 8

    First Air Date: 1998-01-05
    6 Episodes

    Season 9

    First Air Date: 1998-11-16
    6 Episodes

    Season 10

    First Air Date: 2014-01-02
    8 Episodes

    Season 11

    First Air Date: 2014-12-26
    8 Episodes

    Season 12

    First Air Date: 2016-01-07
    8 Episodes

    Birds of a Feather Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Nicked30 min
    Season 1Episode 2Just Visiting30 min
    Season 1Episode 3Shift!30 min
    Season 1Episode 4Women's Troubles30 min
    Season 1Episode 5Cheat!30 min
    Season 1Episode 6Substitute30 min
    Season 1Episode 7Sailing30 min
    Season 2Episode 1Getting a Grip30 min
    Season 2Episode 2Sweet Smell of Success30 min
    Season 2Episode 3Young Guns30 min
    Season 2Episode 4Muesli30 min
    Season 2Episode 5Keep Off the Grass30 min
    Season 2Episode 6Mice30 min
    Season 2Episode 7Brief Encounter30 min
    Season 2Episode 8You Pays Yer Money30 min
    Season 2Episode 9Trust30 min
    Season 2Episode 10Thirty Something30 min
    Season 2Episode 11Love on the Run30 min
    Season 2Episode 12Old Friends30 min
    Season 2Episode 13Parting30 min
    Season 2Episode 14Jobs for the Girls30 min
    Season 2Episode 15Someone Else's Baby30 min
    Season 2Episode 16Falling in Love Again30 min
    Season 3Episode 1Keeping Up Appearances30 min
    Season 3Episode 2Tinker, Tailor30 min
    Season 3Episode 3Baby Come Back30 min
    Season 3Episode 4Just Family30 min
    Season 3Episode 5Confidence30 min
    Season 3Episode 6The Lost Weekend30 min
    Season 3Episode 7History30 min
    Season 3Episode 8Poetic Justice30 min
    Season 3Episode 9Flavour of the Month30 min
    Season 3Episode 10Cuckoo30 min
    Season 3Episode 11Schooling30 min
    Season 3Episode 12Business30 min
    Season 3Episode 13We'll Always Have Majorca30 min
    Season 4Episode 1Breadwinner30 min
    Season 4Episode 2Food for Thought30 min
    Season 4Episode 3Commitments30 min
    Season 4Episode 4Wipe That Smile Off Your Tape30 min
    Season 4Episode 5Caring30 min
    Season 4Episode 6Nine and a Half Days30 min
    Season 4Episode 7Belongings30 min
    Season 4Episode 8Hungry for Love30 min
    Season 4Episode 9Time and Tides30 min
    Season 4Episode 10Sisters Are Doing It30 min
    Season 4Episode 11The Front30 min
    Season 4Episode 12Okey-Cokey-Karaoke30 min
    Season 4Episode 13Loyalty30 min
    Season 4Episode 14The Chigwell Connection30 min
    Season 5Episode 1High Fidelity30 min
    Season 5Episode 2Bang30 min
    Season 5Episode 3Non-Starter30 min
    Season 5Episode 4Absent Friends30 min
    Season 5Episode 5Suspicious Minds30 min
    Season 5Episode 6Dead Loss30 min
    Season 5Episode 7A Brush with the Law30 min
    Season 5Episode 8Mind Over Matter30 min
    Season 5Episode 9East Side Story30 min
    Season 5Episode 10Find the Lady30 min
    Season 5Episode 11An Inspector Stays30 min
    Season 5Episode 12All Gone Pear Shaped30 min
    Season 5Episode 13A Beautiful Game30 min
    Season 5Episode 14It Happened in Hollywood30 min
    Season 6Episode 1Not in My Backyard30 min
    Season 6Episode 2Mrs Robinson30 min
    Season 6Episode 3First Time Caller30 min
    Season 6Episode 4Compulsion30 min
    Season 6Episode 5All Day and All of the Night30 min
    Season 6Episode 6Appreciation Society30 min
    Season 6Episode 7Moving30 min
    Season 6Episode 8Out30 min
    Season 6Episode 9In at the Deep End30 min
    Season 6Episode 10Business is Business30 min
    Season 6Episode 11Puppy Love30 min
    Season 6Episode 12Still Waters Run Deep30 min
    Season 6Episode 13On the Glass30 min
    Season 6Episode 14Christmas in Dreamland30 min
    Season 6Episode 15The Chigwell Years30 min
    Season 7Episode 1Stand by Your Man30 min
    Season 7Episode 2Nearest and Dearest30 min
    Season 7Episode 3Cheers30 min
    Season 7Episode 4Relative Strangers30 min
    Season 7Episode 5Porridge30 min
    Season 7Episode 6Rising Damp30 min
    Season 7Episode 7Three Up, Two Down30 min
    Season 7Episode 8Are You Being Served?30 min
    Season 7Episode 9Never the Twain30 min
    Season 7Episode 10Three's Company30 min
    Season 7Episode 11Reservoir Birds30 min
    Season 8Episode 1Trouble and Strife30 min
    Season 8Episode 2The Essex Patient30 min
    Season 8Episode 3Maids of Ongar30 min
    Season 8Episode 4Baggage30 min
    Season 8Episode 5Can't Judge a Book30 min
    Season 8Episode 6Money30 min
    Season 9Episode 1Ghost30 min
    Season 9Episode 2Mummies and Daddies30 min
    Season 9Episode 3Sunday30 min
    Season 9Episode 4Model30 min
    Season 9Episode 5Nuptials30 min
    Season 9Episode 6Holy Ground30 min
    Season 10Episode 1Gimme Shelter30 min
    Season 10Episode 2Slave30 min
    Season 10Episode 3Hot Stuff30 min
    Season 10Episode 4Hearts for Sale30 min
    Season 10Episode 5Tattoo You30 min
    Season 10Episode 6Blinded by Love30 min
    Season 10Episode 7Back to Zero30 min
    Season 10Episode 8You Can't Always Get What You Want30 min
    Season 11Episode 1Bird on a Pane30 min
    Season 11Episode 2There's Something About Sharon30 min
    Season 11Episode 3Guess Who's Coming to Essex?30 min
    Season 11Episode 4The Girls with the Pearl Buttons30 min
    Season 11Episode 5Tracey's Choice30 min
    Season 11Episode 6The Chief, the Cook, His Mum and Her Lodger30 min
    Season 11Episode 7Without a Trace30 min
    Season 11Episode 8Spa Wars30 min
    Season 12Episode 1Knocking on Heaven's Door30 min
    Season 12Episode 2Too Much of Nothing30 min
    Season 12Episode 3Tombstone Blues30 min
    Season 12Episode 4Going, Going, Gone30 min
    Season 12Episode 5Tonight I'll Be Staying Here with You30 min
    Season 12Episode 6Abandoned Love30 min
    Season 12Episode 7Blonde on Blonde30 min
    Season 12Episode 8Forever Young30 min
    • Pauline Quirke

      as Sharon Theodopolopodos
    • Linda Robson

      as Tracey Stubbs
    • Lesley Joseph

      as Dorien Green
    • Charlie Quirke

      as Travis Stubbs