The Royal

The Royal (2003)

  • Genre: Drama
  • First Air Date: 2003-01-19
  • Last Air Date: 2011-07-31
  • Total Seasons: 8
  • Total Episodes: 87
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 60 min.
  • Production Company: Yorkshire Television
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Networks: ITV1
star 7.9/10
From 8 Ratings


Follows the staff and patients of a Yorkshire cottage hospital in the 60s, embroiled in tangled love lives and bitter power struggles.

  • Keywords: northern england, yorkshire, rural area, hospital, period drama, spin off, medical drama, 1960s
  • The Royal Trailer

    Is The Royal on Netflix?

    Is The Royal on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    The Royal Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date:
    6 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 2003-01-19
    7 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 2003-05-25
    6 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 2003-11-16
    14 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 2004-12-05
    12 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 2006-03-12
    12 Episodes

    Season 6

    First Air Date: 2007-03-25
    12 Episodes

    Season 7

    First Air Date: 2008-06-22
    12 Episodes

    Season 8

    First Air Date: 2009-07-12
    12 Episodes

    The Royal Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1First Impressions60 min
    Season 1Episode 2Second Time Around60 min
    Season 1Episode 3Coffin Fit60 min
    Season 1Episode 4Sister of Mercy60 min
    Season 1Episode 5Immediate Care60 min
    Season 1Episode 6Kiss and Tell60 min
    Season 1Episode 7Crash60 min
    Season 2Episode 1All at Sea60 min
    Season 2Episode 2Snakes and Ladders60 min
    Season 2Episode 3Thicker Than Water60 min
    Season 2Episode 4Wishing and Hoping60 min
    Season 2Episode 5One of Those Days60 min
    Season 2Episode 6The Last Waltz60 min
    Season 3Episode 1The Unbreakable Chain60 min
    Season 3Episode 2If Not for You60 min
    Season 3Episode 3Doing the Rounds60 min
    Season 3Episode 4Consequences60 min
    Season 3Episode 5Poison60 min
    Season 3Episode 6Famous for a Day60 min
    Season 3Episode 7Skin Deep60 min
    Season 3Episode 8Cliffhanger60 min
    Season 3Episode 9All the Fun of the Fair60 min
    Season 3Episode 10Holding on Tight60 min
    Season 3Episode 11For Those in Peril60 min
    Season 3Episode 12Reckoning60 min
    Season 3Episode 13Doing Time60 min
    Season 3Episode 14Home to Roost60 min
    Season 4Episode 1For Better for Worse60 min
    Season 4Episode 2Beggars and Choosers60 min
    Season 4Episode 3No Room for Ravers60 min
    Season 4Episode 4The Rose Queen60 min
    Season 4Episode 5It's What's on the Inside That Counts60 min
    Season 4Episode 6Duty Bound60 min
    Season 4Episode 7Sins of the Father60 min
    Season 4Episode 8Everybody Needs Somebody60 min
    Season 4Episode 9Say a Little Prayer60 min
    Season 4Episode 10The Way We Were60 min
    Season 4Episode 11Sinking Feeling60 min
    Season 4Episode 12While the Cat's Away60 min
    Season 5Episode 1Love and Lost60 min
    Season 5Episode 2Cometh the Hour Cometh the Man60 min
    Season 5Episode 3Thinking Too Hard60 min
    Season 5Episode 4Seeking Refuge60 min
    Season 5Episode 5Fever60 min
    Season 5Episode 6Letting Go60 min
    Season 5Episode 7Love is All You Need60 min
    Season 5Episode 8Waifs and Strays60 min
    Season 5Episode 9Winners and Loser60 min
    Season 5Episode 10Price of Progress60 min
    Season 5Episode 11Keep on Running60 min
    Season 5Episode 12From This Day Forward60 min
    Season 6Episode 1Absent Friends60 min
    Season 6Episode 2Home and Dry60 min
    Season 6Episode 3Hoping for the Best60 min
    Season 6Episode 4Fear of the Expected60 min
    Season 6Episode 5Dr Who?60 min
    Season 6Episode 6Cursed and Blessed60 min
    Season 6Episode 7Starting Over60 min
    Season 6Episode 8Coming to the Boil60 min
    Season 6Episode 9Scabs60 min
    Season 6Episode 10Laura60 min
    Season 6Episode 11Can't Buy Me Love60 min
    Season 6Episode 12Love and Loss60 min
    Season 7Episode 1Against All Odds60 min
    Season 7Episode 2On the Road60 min
    Season 7Episode 3Blood's Thicker Than Water60 min
    Season 7Episode 4Slings and Arrows60 min
    Season 7Episode 5To Love and to Lose60 min
    Season 7Episode 6Stolen Dreams60 min
    Season 7Episode 7Home from the Hill60 min
    Season 7Episode 8Pastures New60 min
    Season 7Episode 9Busman's Holiday60 min
    Season 7Episode 10In the Air60 min
    Season 7Episode 11The Best of Intentions60 min
    Season 7Episode 12Compromising Positions60 min
    Season 8Episode 1Safe As Houses60 min
    Season 8Episode 2Counting Chickens60 min
    Season 8Episode 3These Foolish Things60 min
    Season 8Episode 4Any Old Iron60 min
    Season 8Episode 5Should I Stay or Should I Go Now60 min
    Season 8Episode 6Please Release Me60 min
    Season 8Episode 7Tutti Fritti60 min
    Season 8Episode 8Manoeuvres60 min
    Season 8Episode 9Dead Air60 min
    Season 8Episode 10A Hero for Our Time60 min
    Season 8Episode 11Below the Surface60 min
    Season 8Episode 12The Enemy Within60 min
    • Michelle Hardwick

      as Lizzie Kennoway
    • Andy Wear

      as Alun Morris
    • Denis Lill

      as Mr. Rose
    • Amy Robbins

      as Dr. Jill Weatherill
    • Linda Armstrong

      as Sister Brigid
    • Robert Daws

      as Dr. Gordon Ormerod
    • Wendy Craig

      as Matron
    • Diana May

      as Nurse Carol Selby
    • Glynis Barber

      as Jean McAteer
    • Neil McDermott

      as Dr. Ralph Ellis
    • Gareth Hale

      as Jack Bell