Dramarama (1983)

  • Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Drama
  • First Air Date: 1983-09-12
  • Last Air Date: 1989-08-21
  • Total Seasons: 7
  • Total Episodes: 91
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Networks: CITV
star 6.6/10
From 3 Ratings


Dramarama is the name of a British children's anthology series broadcast on ITV between 1983 and 1989. It tended to feature drama of a science fiction or supernatural bent. The series was created by Anna Home, then head of children's and youth programming at TVS, however production responsibilities were divided amongst most of the regional ITV franchise holders. Thus, each episode was in practice a one-off production with its own cast and crew, up to and including the executive producer. Dramarama was largely a place for new talent to prove themselves and was a launching pad for the likes of Anthony Horowitz, Paul Abbott, Kay Mellor, Janice Hally, Tony Kearney, David Tennant and Ann Marie Di Mambro. It was one of Dennis Spooner's last credits. One of Dramarama's episodes, "Dodger, Bonzo And The Rest", gained so much popularity that it was turned in to its own series the following year. It starred Lee Ross and was based around a large foster home. The episode "Blackbird Singing In The Dead of Night" was developed by Granada into the TV series Children's Ward. It was also repeated for the first time since its original broadcast on 5 January 2013, during CITV's 30th anniversary Old Skool Weekend. The Series 7 episode "Back To Front" – notable for featuring a mirror image of the Yorkshire Television logo card at the end – was repeated on 6 January 2013, again as part of CITV's 30th anniversary Old Skool Weekend.

  • Keywords: supernatural, anthology
  • Dramarama Trailer

    Is Dramarama on Netflix?

    Is Dramarama on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Dramarama Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date: 1983-04-18
    9 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1983-09-12
    9 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1984-05-14
    12 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1985-04-01
    13 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1986-06-30
    14 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 1987-03-30
    16 Episodes

    Season 6

    First Air Date: 1988-05-08
    16 Episodes

    Season 7

    First Air Date: 1989-06-12
    11 Episodes

    Dramarama Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Mighty Mum and the Petnappers25 min
    Season 1Episode 2Rip It Up25 min
    Season 1Episode 3The Venchie25 min
    Season 1Episode 4Jack and the Computer25 min
    Season 1Episode 5Because I Say So25 min
    Season 1Episode 6Bully for Cosmo25 min
    Season 1Episode 7Messages25 min
    Season 1Episode 8The Young Person's Guide to Getting Their Ball Back25 min
    Season 1Episode 9Sweet Revenge25 min
    Season 2Episode 1Night of the Narrow Boats25 min
    Season 2Episode 2Fowl Pest25 min
    Season 2Episode 3Dodger, Bonzo and the Rest25 min
    Season 2Episode 4Que Sera25 min
    Season 2Episode 5Stalemate25 min
    Season 2Episode 6Snoop!25 min
    Season 2Episode 7Mr. Stabs25 min
    Season 2Episode 8Josephine Jo25 min
    Season 2Episode 9The Purple People Eater25 min
    Season 2Episode 10On Your Tod25 min
    Season 2Episode 11The Old Firm: Two for Starters25 min
    Season 2Episode 12Rachel and Rosie25 min
    Season 3Episode 1Easy25 min
    Season 3Episode 2The Coal Princess25 min
    Season 3Episode 3Look At Me25 min
    Season 3Episode 4The Young Person's Guide to Going Backwards in the World25 min
    Season 3Episode 5The Audition25 min
    Season 3Episode 6The Universe Downstairs25 min
    Season 3Episode 7A Proper Little Nooryeff25 min
    Season 3Episode 8Frog25 min
    Season 3Episode 9Private Eye25 min
    Season 3Episode 10Emily25 min
    Season 3Episode 11Silver25 min
    Season 3Episode 12The Golden Conch25 min
    Season 3Episode 13Purple Passion Video25 min
    Season 4Episode 1The Come-Uppance of Captain Katt25 min
    Season 4Episode 2A Couple of Charlies25 min
    Season 4Episode 3Wayfarers25 min
    Season 4Episode 4Play Acting25 min
    Season 4Episode 5Last Days at Black Bert's25 min
    Season 4Episode 6Maureen Reid Where Are You?25 min
    Season 4Episode 7Flashback25 min
    Season 4Episode 8Direct Action25 min
    Season 4Episode 9Waiting for Elvis25 min
    Season 4Episode 10Just a Game25 min
    Season 4Episode 11Flyaway Friend25 min
    Season 4Episode 12Pig Ignorance25 min
    Season 4Episode 13Jessie's Place25 min
    Season 4Episode 14Frankie's Hat25 min
    Season 5Episode 1Cannondrum25 min
    Season 5Episode 2Snap25 min
    Season 5Episode 3The Horrible Story25 min
    Season 5Episode 4My Friend Julie25 min
    Season 5Episode 5The Creature Beyond Torches' End25 min
    Season 5Episode 6My Mum's a Courgette25 min
    Season 5Episode 7Brainwaves25 min
    Season 5Episode 8Undertow of the Armada25 min
    Season 5Episode 9Stan's First Night25 min
    Season 5Episode 10Living Doll25 min
    Season 5Episode 11Peter25 min
    Season 5Episode 12The Halt25 min
    Season 5Episode 13Tam25 min
    Season 5Episode 14A Spirited Performance25 min
    Season 5Episode 15Badger on the Barge25 min
    Season 6Episode 1Forever Young25 min
    Season 6Episode 2The Macramé Man25 min
    Season 6Episode 3The Wrong Button25 min
    Season 6Episode 4Bubbles25 min
    Season 6Episode 5Blackbird Singing in the Dead of Night25 min
    Season 6Episode 6Big T for Trouble25 min
    Season 6Episode 7Room for One More25 min
    Season 6Episode 8Making Waves25 min
    Season 6Episode 9Just a Normal Girl25 min
    Season 6Episode 10Now You See Them25 min
    Season 6Episode 11Bogeymen25 min
    Season 6Episode 12The Alien25 min
    Season 6Episode 13The Secret of Croftmore25 min
    Season 6Episode 14The Bubblegum Brigade25 min
    Season 6Episode 15Playing for Wales25 min
    Season 6Episode 16Snap Decision25 min
    Season 7Episode 1Codzmorf25 min
    Season 7Episode 2Ghost Story25 min
    Season 7Episode 3Badger25 min
    Season 7Episode 4Back to Front25 min
    Season 7Episode 5Monstrous25 min
    Season 7Episode 6The Pisces Connection25 min
    Season 7Episode 7Rosie the Great25 min
    Season 7Episode 8Snakes and Loofahs25 min
    Season 7Episode 9Just Wild About Harry25 min
    Season 7Episode 10Mitchin'25 min
    Season 7Episode 11In the Pink25 min
    • Gary Oldman

      as Ben
    • Nicholas Bond-Owen