A Dance to the Music of Time

A Dance to the Music of Time (1997)

  • Genre: Comedy, Drama
  • First Air Date: 1997-10-09
  • Last Air Date: 1997-10-30
  • Total Seasons: 1
  • Total Episodes: 4
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 60 min.
  • Production Company: Table Top Productions
  • Networks: Channel 4
  • Director: Alvin Rakoff
star 5.3/10
From 3 Ratings


A Dance to the Music of Time is a four-part adaptation of Anthony Powell's 12-volume novel sequence that aired on Channel 4 in 1997. The series is a sharp, comic portrait of upper-class and bohemian England, spanning almost a century, from the early 1920s to modern times.

  • Keywords: upper class, england, based on novel or book, world war ii, miniseries
  • A Dance to the Music of Time Trailer

    Is A Dance to the Music of Time on Netflix?

    Is A Dance to the Music of Time on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    A Dance to the Music of Time Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1997-10-09
    4 Episodes

    A Dance to the Music of Time Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1The Twenties120 min
    Season 1Episode 2The Thirties120 min
    Season 1Episode 3The War120 min
    Season 1Episode 4Post War120 min
    • Simon Russell Beale

      as Widmerpool
    • James Purefoy

      as Nicholas Jenkins
    • James Fleet

      as Moreland
    • Jonathan Cake

      as Peter Templer
    • Paul Rhys

      as Charles Stringham
    • Claire Skinner

      as Jean
    • Miranda Richardson

      as Pamela Flitton
    • Adrian Scarborough

      as JG Quiggin
    • Edward Fox

      as Uncle Giles
    • John Standing

      as Nicholas Jenkins (older)
    • Gillian Barge

      as Mrs Erdleigh
    • Annabel Mullion

      as Mona
    • Oliver Ford Davies

      as Le Bas
    • Robin Bailey

      as Uncle Alfred
    • Nicholas Jones

      as Bob Duport
    • Nigel Lindsay

      as Odo Stevens
    • Nicholas Rowe

      as David Pennistone
    • Michael Williams

      as Ted Jeavons
    • Sarah Badel

      as Lady Molly
    • Zoë Wanamaker

      as Audrey Maclintick
    • Harriet Walter

      as Mildred
    • Caroline Harker

      as Priscilla
    • Eileen Atkins

      as Brightman
    • James Callis

      as Gwinnett
    • Paul Brooke

      as Maclintick
    • James D'Arcy

      as Nicholas Jenkins (student)
    • Alan Bennett

      as Sillery
    • Joanna David

      as Isobel (older)
    • Emma Fielding

      as Isobel
    • John Gielgud

      as St. John Clarke
    • Frank Middlemass

      as Edgar Deacon
    • Chris Lang

      as Chips Lovell
    • Richard Pasco

      as Sir Magnus Donners
    • Patrick Godfrey

      as General Conyers
    • Tony Osoba

      as Colonel Flores
    • Nicola Walker

      as Gypsy Jones
    • Emily Mortimer

      as Polly Duport
    • Robert Pugh

      as Biggs
    • Lucy Fleming

      as Jean (older)
    • Julian Wadham

      as General Liddament
    • Jamie Glover

      as Robert Tolland
    • Andrew Havill

      as Sunny Farebrother
    • Grant Thatcher

      as Mark Members
    • Colin Baker

      as Canon Fenneau
    • Mark Dexter

      as Tompsitt
    • Richard Leaf

      as Barnabas Henderson
    • Carmen du Sautoy

      as Miss Weedon
    • Amanda Walker

      as Mrs. Conyers
    • Kate Cavanagh

      as Billson
    • Anastasia Hille

      as Matilda
    • James Villiers

      as Buster Foxe
    • Danny Worters

      as Nicholas Jenkins (boy)
    • Geraldine Alexander

      as Susan
    • Osmund Bullock

      as Erridge
    • Sarah Crowden

      as Miss Orchard
    • Barbara Durkin

      as Betty
    • Nicola King

      as Mrs Jenkins
    • David Yelland

      as Mr Jenkins
    • David MacCreedy

      as Bracey
    • Bryan Pringle

      as Smith
    • Michael Wade

      as Dr Brandreth
    • Tim Wylton

      as Albert
    • Rohan McCullough

      as Flavia Wisebite
    • Kevin Colson

      as Louis Glober
    • Jeremy Child

      as Roddy Cutts
    • Matthew Sim

      as Scorpio Murtlock
    • Bobby Webster

      as Templer (student)
    • Amy Simcock

      as Jean (student)
    • Luke de Lacey

      as Stringham (student)
    • Rupert Wickham

      as Jimmy Stripling
    Production Hugh Whitemore Executive Producer
    Production Alvin Rakoff Producer
    Writing Anthony Powell Writer
    Writing Hugh Whitemore Writer
    Directing Alvin Rakoff Director
    Production Lorraine Goodman Associate Producer
    Sound Ian Wilkinson Sound Editor
    Production Sally Osoba Casting Coordinator
    Editing Ardan Fisher Editor
    Editing Jake Bernard Editor
    Sound Simon Bishop Sound Recordist
    Crew Peter Brayham Stunt Coordinator
    Costume & Make-Up Dany Everett Costume Designer
    Sound Wayne Brooks Sound Editor
    Sound Clive Derbyshire Sound Recordist
    Sound Tony Jackson Sound Recordist
    Production Emma Mager Production Coordinator
    Sound Ross Adams Sound Effects Editor
    Crew Geraldine Stephenson Choreographer
    Sound Mark Warman Orchestrator
    Art Chris Roope Art Direction
    Costume & Make-Up Sharon Long Costume Supervisor
    Art Eileen Diss Production Design
    Production Ray Freeborn Production Supervisor
    Directing Sarah Garner Script Supervisor
    Camera Chris Seager Director of Photography
    Art Humphrey Bangham Art Direction
    Editing Justin Krish Editor
    Production Joyce Gallie Casting
    Costume & Make-Up Mary Hillman Makeup Designer
    Crew Liz Pearson Post Production Supervisor
    Costume & Make-Up Barbara Kidd Costume Designer
    Sound Carl Davis Original Music Composer