Hi-de-Hi! (1981)

  • Genre: Comedy
  • Creator: Jimmy Perry, David Croft
  • First Air Date: 1981-02-19
  • Last Air Date: 1988-01-30
  • Total Seasons: 9
  • Total Episodes: 58
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Networks: BBC One
star 7/10
From 16 Ratings


Hi-de-Hi! is a British sitcom set in Maplins, a fictional holiday camp, during 1959 and 1960, and was written by Jimmy Perry and David Croft, who also wrote Dad's Army and It Ain't Half Hot Mum amongst others. It aired on the BBC from 1980 to 1988. The series revolved around the lives of the camp's management and entertainers, most of them struggling actors or has-beens. The inspiration was the experience of writers Perry and Croft: after being demobilised from the army, Perry was a Redcoat at Butlin's, Pwllheli during the holiday season. The series gained large audiences and won a BAFTA as Best Comedy Series in 1984. In 2004, it came 40th in Britain's Best Sitcom and in a 2008 poll on Channel 4, 'Hi-de-Hi!" was voted the 35th most popular comedy catchphrase.

  • Keywords: workplace, staff, holiday camp, sitcom, 1950s, workplace comedy, period sitcom
  • Hi-de-Hi! Trailer

    Is Hi-de-Hi! on Netflix?

    Is Hi-de-Hi! on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Hi-de-Hi! Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date: 1981-01-01
    2 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1981-02-19
    7 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1981-11-29
    6 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1982-10-31
    6 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1982-12-12
    7 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 1983-11-27
    7 Episodes

    Season 6

    First Air Date: 1984-11-03
    6 Episodes

    Season 7

    First Air Date: 1985-12-25
    7 Episodes

    Season 8

    First Air Date: 1986-11-08
    6 Episodes

    Season 9

    First Air Date: 1987-12-26
    6 Episodes

    Hi-de-Hi! Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Hey Diddle Diddle30 min
    Season 1Episode 2Desire in the Mickey Mouse Grotto30 min
    Season 1Episode 3The Beauty Queen Affair30 min
    Season 1Episode 4The Partridge Season30 min
    Season 1Episode 5The Day of Reckoning30 min
    Season 1Episode 6Charity Begins at Home30 min
    Season 1Episode 7No Dogs Allowed30 min
    Season 2Episode 1If Wet- In the Ballroom30 min
    Season 2Episode 2Peggy's Big Chance30 min
    Season 2Episode 3Lift Up Your Minds30 min
    Season 2Episode 4On with the Motley30 min
    Season 2Episode 5A Night Not to Remember30 min
    Season 2Episode 6Sausages or Limelight30 min
    Season 3Episode 1Nice People with Nice Manners30 min
    Season 3Episode 2Carnival Time30 min
    Season 3Episode 3A Matter of Conscience30 min
    Season 3Episode 4The Pay-Off30 min
    Season 3Episode 5Trouble and Strife30 min
    Season 3Episode 6Stripes30 min
    Season 4Episode 1Co-Respondent's Course30 min
    Season 4Episode 2It's a Blue World30 min
    Season 4Episode 3Eruptions30 min
    Season 4Episode 4The Society Entertainer30 min
    Season 4Episode 5Sing You Sinners30 min
    Season 4Episode 6Maplin Intercontinental30 min
    Season 4Episode 7All Change30 min
    Season 5Episode 1Concessions30 min
    Season 5Episode 2Save Our Heritage30 min
    Season 5Episode 3Empty Saddles30 min
    Season 5Episode 4The Marriage Settlement30 min
    Season 5Episode 5The Graven Image30 min
    Season 5Episode 6Peggy's Pen Friend30 min
    Season 5Episode 7The Epidemic30 min
    Season 6Episode 1Together Again30 min
    Season 6Episode 2Ted at the Helm30 min
    Season 6Episode 3Opening Day30 min
    Season 6Episode 4Off with the Motley30 min
    Season 6Episode 5Hey Diddle Diddle, Who's on the Fiddle30 min
    Season 6Episode 6Raffles30 min
    Season 6Episode 7The Great Cat Robbery (Christmas Special)30 min
    Season 7Episode 1It's Murder30 min
    Season 7Episode 2Who Killed Mr. Partridge?30 min
    Season 7Episode 3Spaghetti Galore30 min
    Season 7Episode 4A Lack of Punch30 min
    Season 7Episode 5Ivory Castles in the Air30 min
    Season 7Episode 6Man Trap30 min
    Season 8Episode 1Pigs Might Fly30 min
    Season 8Episode 2The New Broom30 min
    Season 8Episode 3Orphan of the Storm30 min
    Season 8Episode 4God Bless Our Family30 min
    Season 8Episode 5Only the Brave30 min
    Season 8Episode 6September Song30 min
    Season 9Episode 1Tell It to the Marines30 min
    Season 9Episode 2Marry-Go-Round30 min
    Season 9Episode 3The Perils of Peggy30 min
    Season 9Episode 4Let Them Eat Cake30 min
    Season 9Episode 5Wedding Bells30 min
    Season 9Episode 6The Wind of Change30 min
    • Ruth Madoc

      as Gladys Pugh
    • Paul Shane

      as Ted Bovis
    • Su Pollard

      as Peggy Ollerenshaw
    • Jeffrey Holland

      as Spike Dixon
    • Felix Bowness

      as Fred Quilley
    • Nikki Kelly

      as Sylvia Garnsey
    • Diane Holland

      as Yvonne Stuart-Hargreaves
    • David Griffin

      as Clive Dempster
    • Ben Aris

      as Julian Dalrymple-Sykes
    • Chris Andrews

      as Gary
    • Linda Regan

      as April
    • David Webb

      as Stanley Matthews
    • Tony Webb

      as Bruce Matthews
    • Kenneth Connor

      as Sammy
    • Ken Barrie

      as Singing Narrator (uncredited)
    Production David Croft Producer
    Production John Kilby Producer