Dark Shadows

Dark Shadows (1966)

Necking in the afternoon.

  • Genre: Drama, Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Soap
  • Creator: Dan Curtis
  • First Air Date: 1966-06-27
  • Last Air Date: 1971-04-02
  • Total Seasons: 12
  • Total Episodes: 1225
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 22 min.
  • Production Company: Dan Curtis Productions
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Networks: ABC
star 6.9/10
From 71 Ratings


Dark Shadows is an American gothic soap opera that originally aired weekdays on the ABC television network, from June 27, 1966, to April 2, 1971. The show was created by Dan Curtis. The story bible, which was written by Art Wallace, does not mention any supernatural elements. It was unprecedented in daytime television when ghosts were introduced about six months after it began. The series became hugely popular when vampire Barnabas Collins appeared a year into its run. Dark Shadows also featured werewolves, zombies, man-made monsters, witches, warlocks, time travel, and a parallel universe. A small company of actors each played many roles; indeed, as actors came and went, some characters were played by more than one actor. Major writers besides Art Wallace included Malcolm Marmorstein, Sam Hall, Gordon Russell, and Violet Welles.

  • Keywords: vampire, supernatural, curse, mansion, werewolf, gothic horror, mausoleum, ghost, family estate, haunted
  • Dark Shadows Trailer

    Is Dark Shadows on Netflix?

    Is Dark Shadows on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Dark Shadows Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date:
    31 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1966-06-27
    124 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1966-12-20
    64 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1967-03-21
    83 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1967-07-17
    90 Episodes

    Season 5

    First Air Date: 1967-11-20
    93 Episodes

    Season 6

    First Air Date: 1968-04-01
    237 Episodes

    Season 7

    First Air Date: 1969-03-03
    182 Episodes

    Season 8

    First Air Date: 1969-11-14
    92 Episodes

    Season 9

    First Air Date: 1970-03-30
    80 Episodes

    Season 10

    First Air Date: 1970-07-20
    49 Episodes

    Season 11

    First Air Date: 1970-09-25
    85 Episodes

    Season 12

    First Air Date: 1971-01-28
    46 Episodes

    Dark Shadows Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Episode One55 min
    Season 1Episode 2Episode Two55 min
    Season 1Episode 3Episode Three55 min
    Season 1Episode 4Episode Four55 min
    Season 1Episode 5Episode Five55 min
    Season 1Episode 6Episode Six55 min
    Season 1Episode 7Episode Seven55 min
    Season 1Episode 8Episode Eight55 min
    Season 1Episode 9Episode Nine55 min
    Season 1Episode 10Episode Ten55 min
    Season 1Episode 11Episode Eleven55 min
    Season 1Episode 12Episode Twelve55 min
    • Jonathan Frid

      as Barnabas Collins
    • Grayson Hall

      as Julia Hoffman
    • Joan Bennett

      as Elizabeth Collins Stoddard
    • David Selby

      as Quentin Collins
    • Kathryn Leigh Scott

      as Maggie Evans
    • Lara Parker

      as Angelique Bouchard Collins
    • Alexandra Isles

      as Victoria Winters
    • Nancy Barrett

      as Carolyn Stoddard
    • Louis Edmonds

      as Roger Collins
    • David Henesy

      as David Collins
    • Thayer David

      as Ben Stokes
    • John Karlen

      as Willie Loomis
    • Joel Crothers

      as Joe Haskell
    • Roger Davis

      as Jeff Clark
    • Jerry Lacy

      as Gregory Trask
    • Jonathan Frid

      as Bramwell Collins
    • Dennis Patrick

      as Paul Stoddard
    Sound Bob Cobert Original Music Composer