8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter

8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter (2002)

  • Genre: Comedy, Drama
  • Creator: Tracy Gamble
  • First Air Date: 2002-09-17
  • Last Air Date: 2005-04-15
  • Total Seasons: 3
  • Total Episodes: 76
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 22 min.
  • Production Company: Shady Acres Entertainment
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Networks: ABC
star 6.753/10
From 144 Ratings


8 Simple Rules is an American sitcom television series originally starring John Ritter and Katey Sagal as middle-class parents Paul and Cate Hennessy, raising their three children. Kaley Cuoco, Amy Davidson and Martin Spanjers co-starred as their teenage kids: Bridget, Kerry and Rory Hennessy. The series ran on ABC from September 17, 2002, to April 15, 2005. The first season focused on Paul being left in charge of the children after Cate takes a full-time job as a nurse, with comedic emphasis on his often strict rules concerning his daughters and dating. The series' name and premise were derived from the book 8 Simple Rules by W. Bruce Cameron. While 8 Simple Rules was renewed for a second season and production had begun, Ritter's sudden death in September 2003 left the series in an uncertain position. After a hiatus, the series returned with killing off his character. James Garner and David Spade later joined the main cast as Cate's father Jim Egan and her nephew C.J. Barnes.

  • Keywords: family relationships, family, overprotective parent, sitcom
  • 8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter Trailer

    Is 8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter on Netflix?

    Is 8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.
    Follow us on Facebook to see when 8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter becomes available on Netflix!

    8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date:
    1 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 2002-09-17
    28 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 2003-09-23
    24 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 2004-09-24
    24 Episodes

    8 Simple Rules... for Dating My Teenage Daughter Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Pilot30 min
    Season 1Episode 2Wall of Shame30 min
    Season 1Episode 3Bridget's First Job30 min
    Season 1Episode 4Wings30 min
    Season 1Episode 5Son-in-Law30 min
    Season 1Episode 6Cheerleader30 min
    Season 1Episode 7Trick or Treehouse30 min
    Season 1Episode 8By the Book30 min
    Season 1Episode 9Two Boys for Every Girl30 min
    Season 1Episode 10Give It Up30 min
    Season 1Episode 11Paul Meets His Match30 min
    Season 1Episode 12All I Want for Christmas30 min
    Season 1Episode 13Rory's Got a Girlfriend30 min
    Season 1Episode 14Career Choices30 min
    Season 1Episode 15Kerry's Big Adventure30 min
    Season 1Episode 16Come and Knock on Our Door30 min
    Season 1Episode 17Drummer Boy: Part 130 min
    Season 1Episode 18Drummer Boy: Part 230 min
    Season 1Episode 19Cool Parent30 min
    Season 1Episode 20Every Picture Tells a Story30 min
    Season 1Episode 21Kerry's Video30 min
    Season 1Episode 22Good Moms Gone Wild30 min
    Season 1Episode 23Career Woman30 min
    Season 1Episode 24Queen Bees and King Bees30 min
    Season 1Episode 25Bake Sale30 min
    Season 1Episode 26The Doyle Wedding30 min
    Season 1Episode 27Sort of an Officer and a Gentleman: Part 130 min
    Season 1Episode 28Sort of an Officer and a Gentleman: Part 230 min
    Season 2Episode 1Premiere30 min
    Season 2Episode 2Sex Ed30 min
    Season 2Episode 3Donny Goes AWOL30 min
    Season 2Episode 4Goodbye: Part 130 min
    Season 2Episode 5Goodbye: Part 230 min
    Season 2Episode 6No Right Way30 min
    Season 2Episode 7What Dad Would Want30 min
    Season 2Episode 8The First Thanksgiving30 min
    Season 2Episode 9The Story of Anne Frank and Skeevy30 min
    Season 2Episode 10YMCA30 min
    Season 2Episode 11Get Real30 min
    Season 2Episode 12Consequences30 min
    Season 2Episode 13Opposites Attract: Part 130 min
    Season 2Episode 14Opposites Attract: Part 230 min
    Season 2Episode 15Opposites Attract: Night of the Locust30 min
    Season 2Episode 16Daddy's Girl30 min
    Season 2Episode 17Mall in the Family30 min
    Season 2Episode 18Let's Keep Going: Part 130 min
    Season 2Episode 19Let's Keep Going: Part 230 min
    Season 2Episode 20C.J.'s Party30 min
    Season 2Episode 21Mother's Day30 min
    Season 2Episode 22The Principal30 min
    Season 2Episode 23Finale Part Un30 min
    Season 2Episode 24Finale Part Deux30 min
    Season 3Episode 1First Day of School30 min
    Season 3Episode 2Changes30 min
    Season 3Episode 3School Nurse30 min
    Season 3Episode 4Out of the Box30 min
    Season 3Episode 5Car Trouble30 min
    Season 3Episode 6Halloween30 min
    Season 3Episode 7Coach30 min
    Season 3Episode 8Secrets30 min
    Season 3Episode 9Thanksgiving Guest30 min
    Season 3Episode 10Vanity Unfair30 min
    Season 3Episode 11Princetown Girl30 min
    Season 3Episode 12A Very C.J. Christmas30 min
    Season 3Episode 13The Sub30 min
    Season 3Episode 14C.J.'s Temptation30 min
    Season 3Episode 15Old Flame30 min
    Season 3Episode 16Closure30 min
    Season 3Episode 17Volleybrawl30 min
    Season 3Episode 18Freaky Friday30 min
    Season 3Episode 19Torn Between Two Lovers30 min
    Season 3Episode 20C.J.'s Real Dad30 min
    Season 3Episode 21The After Party30 min
    Season 3Episode 22The Teachers Lounge30 min
    Season 3Episode 23Sleepover30 min
    Season 3Episode 24Ditch Day30 min
    • Katey Sagal

      as Cate Hennessy
    • Kaley Cuoco

      as Bridget Hennessy
    • Amy Davidson

      as Kerry Hennessy
    • Martin Spanjers

      as Rory Hennessy
    • James Garner

      as Jim Egan
    • David Spade

      as C.J. Barnes
    Production Tom Shadyac Executive Producer
    Production James Widdoes Producer
    Production Lori Openden Casting