The True Believers

The True Believers (1988)

  • Genre: War & Politics, Drama
  • First Air Date: 1988-06-28
  • Last Air Date: 1988-08-16
  • Total Seasons: 1
  • Total Episodes: 8
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 60 min.
  • Production Country: Australia
  • Networks: ABC TV
  • Director: Peter Fisk


The True Believers is a 1988 Australian mini series which looks at the history of the Australian Labor Party from the end of World War Two up to the Australian Labor Party split of 1955. It was co-written by Bob Ellis who focused on three characters "Chifley, the unlettered man of great dignity; Menzies, who used to stand for something but eventually stood only for Menzies; and Evatt, the grand idealist... It's almost like Shakespeare's Henry IV, Part 1. It's a chunk of national history during Australia's great era of change after the war."

  • Keywords: world war ii, cold war, prime minister, freedom of speech, constitution, parliament, political party, election campaign, trade union, idealism, anti-communism, class differences, disillusionment, political campaign, political leader, secret service, political intrigue , post world war ii, catholicism, communism, red scare, 1940s, political figure, 1950s, political repression, political scandal, australian history, political turmoil, leftist radicalism, political history, australian politics, australian prime minister
  • The True Believers Trailer

    Is The True Believers on Netflix?

    Is The True Believers on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    The True Believers Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1988-06-28
    8 Episodes

    The True Believers Episodes

    No episodes found.
    • Ed Devereaux

      as Ben Chifley
    • John Bonney

      as Robert Menzies
    • Simon Chilvers

      as H.V. Evatt
    • John Derum

      as B.A. Santamaria
    • Graham Rouse

      as Arthur Fadden
    • Nick Tate

      as Les Hayden
    • Gary Files

      as Fred Daly
    • Stuart McCreery

      as Allan Dalziel
    • Mary-Lou Stewart

      as Joanna Malcolm
    • Dorothy St. Heaps

      as Elizabeth Chifley
    • Leonie-Martin Smith

      as Ethel Casey
    • Hec Macmillan

      as Sir William McKell
    • Peter Corbett

      as John Dedman
    • Michelle Marzo

      as Rosalind Evatt
    • Paul Hunt

      as John Burton
    • Harold Hopkins

      as Edgar Ross
    • Paul Sonkkila

      as Ron Tate
    • Bill Young

      as Jim Cooper
    • Valerie Bader

      as Mary Alice Evatt
    • Ray Meagher

      as Tom Burke
    • Ron Blanchard

      as Arthur Calwell
    • John Ewart

      as Fred Daley
    • Bryan Marshall

      as Richard Casey
    • Malcolm Robertson

      as Idris Williams
    • Joan Bruce

      as Pattie Menzies
    • Kevin Golsby

      as Narrator
    • Tim Elliott

      as Radio Announcer
    • Kenneth Radley

      as Bill Parkinson
    • Danny Adcock

      as Lloyd Ross
    • Diane Craig

      as Elsie
    • Jeff Ashby

      as Garfield Barwick
    • Robin Bowering

      as Mr. Purcell
    • Neil Fitzpatrick

      as H.C. Coombs
    • Tracy Mann

      as Tess Ross
    • Alan McQueen

      as Jim Healy
    • Norman Kaye

      as Archbishop Mannix
    • Rob Steele

      as Clyde Cameron
    • Bob Baines

      as Stan Keon
    • Scott McGregor

      as Jim Comerford
    • Gerry Duggan

      as Wally
    • Ron Hackett

      as Les McConnan
    • Colin Borgonon

    • Laurie Butler

      as Speaker of the House
    Writing Bob Ellis Writer
    Writing Stephen Ramsay Writer
    Directing Peter Fisk Director
    Writing John Lonie Writer
    Writing Matt Carroll Writer
    Sound William Motzing Music
    Crew Peter Knevitt Cinematography
    Crew Richard A. Bond Jr. Cinematography
    Crew Tony Conolly Cinematography
    Crew Peter Robson Cinematography
    Crew Murray Tonkin Cinematography
    Editing Graham Tickle Editor
    Editing Cathy Forster Editor
    Art Julie Belle Production Design
    Art Gregor McLean Production Design
    Art Geoffrey Wedlock Production Design
    Art Julie Belle Art Direction
    Costume & Make-Up Jolanta Nejman Costume Design
    Production Stephen O'Rourke Line Producer
    Production Matt Carroll Executive Producer
    Production Sandra Levy Executive Producer
    Production Bruce Liebau Producer