A Family at War

A Family at War (1970)

  • Genre: War & Politics, Drama
  • Creator: John Finch
  • First Air Date: 1970-04-14
  • Last Air Date: 1972-06-23
  • Total Seasons: 4
  • Total Episodes: 65
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 60 min.
  • Networks: ITV
star 8/10
From 2 Ratings


The Ashton family struggles to deal with the harsh realities of the Second World War as their sons are sent away to fight. Those who remain at home in Liverpool live in constant fear of a knock on the door with a telegram from the War Office or the Luftwaffe bombs overhead as they sleep at night.

  • Keywords: war, world war ii, liverpool, home front, 1940s
  • A Family at War Trailer

    Is A Family at War on Netflix?

    Is A Family at War on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.
    Follow us on Facebook to see when A Family at War becomes available on Netflix!

    A Family at War Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1970-04-14
    13 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1970-11-11
    19 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1971-10-06
    20 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date:
    13 Episodes

    A Family at War Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1The Facts of Life60 min
    Season 1Episode 2To Die for Spain60 min
    Season 1Episode 3Lines of Battle60 min
    Season 1Episode 4The Summer Before the War60 min
    Season 1Episode 5The Gate of the Year60 min
    Season 1Episode 6The Breach in the Dyke60 min
    Season 1Episode 7The War Office Regrets60 min
    Season 1Episode 8For Strategic Reasons60 min
    Season 1Episode 9The Night They Hit No. 860 min
    Season 1Episode 10One of Ours60 min
    Season 1Episode 11Brothers in War60 min
    Season 1Episode 12If It's Got Your Number on It60 min
    Season 1Episode 13The End of the Beginning60 min
    Season 2Episode 1The Other Side of the Hill60 min
    Season 2Episode 2I Can Be Happy, Can't I?60 min
    Season 2Episode 3A Lesson in War60 min
    Season 2Episode 4Is Your Journey Really Necessary?60 min
    Season 2Episode 5The Forty-Eight Hour Pass60 min
    Season 2Episode 6Hope Against Hope60 min
    Season 2Episode 7A Time to Be Born60 min
    Season 2Episode 8A Hero's Welcome60 min
    Season 2Episode 9We Could Be a Lot Worse Off60 min
    Season 2Episode 10Lend Your Loving Arms60 min
    Season 2Episode 11Hazard60 min
    Season 2Episode 12Giving and Taking60 min
    Season 2Episode 13Believed Killed60 min
    Season 2Episode 14Into the Dark60 min
    Season 2Episode 15The Straight and Narrow60 min
    Season 2Episode 16Clash by Night60 min
    Season 2Episode 17Salute the Happy Morn60 min
    Season 2Episode 18I Wanted to Be with You60 min
    Season 2Episode 19A Separate Peace60 min
    Season 3Episode 1The Lucky Ones60 min
    Season 3Episode 2For the Duration60 min
    Season 3Episode 3Happy Returns60 min
    Season 3Episode 4The Things You Never Told Me60 min
    Season 3Episode 5You Can Choose Your Friends60 min
    Season 3Episode 6Flesh and Blood60 min
    Season 3Episode 7Spread a Little Happiness60 min
    Season 3Episode 8Take It on Trust60 min
    Season 3Episode 9This Year, Next Year60 min
    Season 3Episode 10The Fundamental Things Apply60 min
    Season 3Episode 11Thicker Than Water60 min
    Season 3Episode 12Breaking Point60 min
    Season 3Episode 13The Lost Ones60 min
    Season 3Episode 14The Sensible Thing60 min
    Season 3Episode 15Under New Management60 min
    Season 3Episode 16Coming Home60 min
    Season 3Episode 17A Faint Refrain60 min
    Season 3Episode 18Two Fathers60 min
    Season 3Episode 19The Old Order Changeth60 min
    Season 3Episode 20Yielding Place to New60 min
    • Trevor Bowen

      as Tony Briggs
    • Colin Douglas

      as Edwin Ashton
    • Shelagh Fraser

      as Jean Ashton
    • Coral Atkins

      as Sheila Ashton
    • Lesley Nunnerley

      as Margaret Porter
    • Colin Campbell

      as David Ashton
    • Keith Drinkel

      as Philip Ashton
    • Barbara Flynn

      as Freda Ashton
    Production Michael Cox Producer