Children of the Whales

Children of the Whales (2017)

  • Genre: Animation, Drama, Mystery, Sci-Fi & Fantasy
  • First Air Date: 2017-10-08
  • Last Air Date: 2017-12-24
  • Total Seasons: 1
  • Total Episodes: 12
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 24 min.
  • Production Company: Bandai Visual
  • Production Country: Japan
  • Networks: Tokyo MX, KBS Kyoto
star 7.4/10
From 61 Ratings


Chakuro is the 14-year-old archivist of the Mud Whale, a nigh-utopian island that floats across the surface of an endless sea of sand. Nine in ten of the inhabitants of the Mud Whale have been blessed and cursed with the ability to use saimia, special powers that doom them to an early death. Chakuro and his friends have stumbled across other islands, but they have never met, seen, or even heard of a human who wasn't from their own. One day, Chakuro visits an island as large as the Mud Whale and meets a girl who will change his destiny.

  • Keywords: lie, magic, romance, religion, based on manga, super power, intrigue, hidden truth, shoujo, anime, sand world
  • Children of the Whales Trailer

    Is Children of the Whales on Netflix?

    Yes! The serie Children of the Whales is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

    Children of the Whales Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date: 2018-01-26
    2 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 2017-10-08
    12 Episodes

    Children of the Whales Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1It Was the Entirety of Our Precious World25 min
    Season 1Episode 2Sinners of Falena25 min
    Season 1Episode 3I've Had Enough of This World25 min
    Season 1Episode 4Drown in Sand Alongside the Mud Whale25 min
    Season 1Episode 5I Don't Want to Run25 min
    Season 1Episode 6Tomorrow, I Might End Up Having to Kill Someone25 min
    Season 1Episode 7I Want to See Your Future25 min
    Season 1Episode 8Disappear from This World25 min
    Season 1Episode 9I Want to See Where Your Choice Leads25 min
    Season 1Episode 10I'm Setting Off on a New Journey25 min
    Season 1Episode 11It's Just a Dream25 min
    Season 1Episode 12I'm Glad I Was Born Here25 min
    • Yuuichirou Umehara

      as Ōni (voice)
    • Hiroshi Kamiya

      as Shuan (voice)
    • Mikako Komatsu

      as Ginshu (voice)
    • Nobunaga Shimazaki

      as Suō (voice)
    • Manaka Iwami

      as Rikosu (voice)
    • Natsuki Hanae

      as Chakuro (voice)
    • Daiki Yamashita

      as Ryodari (voice)
    Sound Jin Aketagawa Sound Director
    Camera Yoshio Ookouchi Director of Photography
    Editing Masahiro Goto Editor
    Sound Hiroaki Tsutsumi Original Music Composer
    Visual Effects Haruko Iizuka Character Designer
    Visual Effects Haruko Iizuka Opening/Ending Animation
    Visual Effects Haruko Iizuka Supervising Animation Director
    Directing Kyohei Ishiguro Series Director
    Visual Effects Miyuki Ishida Color Designer
    Art Miki Matsumoto Prop Designer