The Rainbow

The Rainbow (1988)

  • Genre: Drama
  • First Air Date: 1988-12-04
  • Last Air Date: 1988-12-18
  • Total Seasons: 1
  • Total Episodes: 3
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 180 min.
  • Production Company: BBC
  • Networks: BBC One
  • Director: Stuart Burge
star 3/10
From 2 Ratings


Ursula Brangwen is the beautiful, naive daughter of a wealthy country squire, one of five children living in the Nottinghamshire mining heartland at the turn of the century. From wide-eyed sixteen-year-old to fully grown woman, the drama follows Ursula through the trials and tribulations of her burgeoning personal relationships in her quest to find fulfilment for her developing passionate and sensual nature. Adaptation of DH Lawrence's novel.

  • Keywords: sibling relationship, based on novel or book, miniseries
  • The Rainbow Trailer

    Is The Rainbow on Netflix?

    Is The Rainbow on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    The Rainbow Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1988-12-04
    3 Episodes

    The Rainbow Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Ghosts60 min
    Season 1Episode 2The Widening Circle60 min
    Season 1Episode 3The Darkness of Paradise60 min
    • Imogen Stubbs

      as Ursula Brangwen
    • Clare Holman

      as Gudrun Brangwen
    • Martin Wenner

      as Anton Skrebensky
    • Colin Tarrant

      as Will Brangwen
    • Tom Bell

      as Old Tom Brangwen
    • Kate Buffery

      as Winifred Inger
    • Suzy Roper

      as Theresa Brangwen
    • Emma Chambers

      as Margaret
    • Sarah Crowden

      as Catherine Phillips
    • Jane Gurnett

      as Anna Brangwen
    Directing Stuart Burge Director