Vic Reeves Big Night Out

Vic Reeves Big Night Out (1990)

  • Genre: Comedy
  • Creator: Vic Reeves
  • First Air Date: 1990-05-25
  • Last Air Date: 1991-04-17
  • Total Seasons: 2
  • Total Episodes: 14
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Production Company: Channel X
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Networks: Channel 4
star 7/10
From 7 Ratings


Vic Reeves Big Night Out is a British cult comedy stage show and later TV series which ran on Channel 4 for two series in 1990 and 1991, as well as a New Year special. It marked the beginnings of the collaboration between Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer and started their Vic and Bob comedy double act. The show was later acknowledged as a seminal force in British comedy throughout the 1990s and which continues to the present day. Arguably the most surreal of the pair's work, Vic Reeves Big Night Out was effectively a parody of the variety shows which dominated the early years of television, but which were, by the early 1990s, falling from grace. Vic, introduced by Patrick Allen as "Britain's Top Light Entertainer and Singer", would sit behind a cluttered desk talking nonsense and introducing the various segments and surreal guests on the show. Vic Reeves Big Night Out is notable as the only time in their career where Vic solely took the role of host, while Bob was consigned to the back stage, appearing every few minutes as either himself or as a strange character. The two received equal billing in the series credits. On 3 October 2007, the first episode was re-broadcast on More4 as part of Channel 4 at 25, a season of classic Channel 4 programmes shown to celebrate the channel's 25th birthday.

  • Keywords: surreal, parody, sketch comedy
  • Vic Reeves Big Night Out Trailer

    Is Vic Reeves Big Night Out on Netflix?

    Is Vic Reeves Big Night Out on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.
    Follow us on Facebook to see when Vic Reeves Big Night Out becomes available on Netflix!

    Vic Reeves Big Night Out Seasons

    Season 0

    First Air Date: 1990-12-31
    4 Episodes

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1990-05-25
    6 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1991-02-27
    8 Episodes

    Vic Reeves Big Night Out Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Episode 125 min
    Season 1Episode 2Episode 225 min
    Season 1Episode 3Episode 325 min
    Season 1Episode 4Episode 425 min
    Season 1Episode 5Episode 525 min
    Season 1Episode 6Episode 625 min
    Season 2Episode 1Dutch Injunction25 min
    Season 2Episode 2Hair Restorer25 min
    Season 2Episode 3Remember Punk Rock25 min
    Season 2Episode 4That Was My Idea25 min
    Season 2Episode 5Completely in the Dark25 min
    Season 2Episode 6Bontempi Organ25 min
    Season 2Episode 7Bob's Desk25 min
    Season 2Episode 8Bombshell Cliffhanger...25 min
    • Bob Mortimer

    • Vic Reeves

    Writing Vic Reeves Writer