Explained (2018)

  • Genre: Documentary
  • Creator: Ezra Klein
  • First Air Date: 2018-05-23
  • Last Air Date: 2021-10-15
  • Total Seasons: 3
  • Total Episodes: 44
  • Status: Returning Series
  • Episode Runtime: 20 min.
  • Production Company: Vox Entertainment
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Networks: Netflix
star 7.648/10
From 81 Ratings


This documentary series, made in partnership with Vox, explain some of the world's current trends, from politics, to science to pop culture.

  • Keywords: experiment, news, random, investigate, zeitgeist, eua, science
  • Explained Trailer

    Is Explained on Netflix?

    Is Explained on Netflix? Yes! The serie Explained is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

    Watch on Netflix

    Explained Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 2018-05-23
    20 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 2019-09-26
    10 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 2021-07-16
    14 Episodes

    Explained Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1The Racial Wealth Gap16 min
    Season 1Episode 2Designer DNA18 min
    Season 1Episode 3Monogamy18 min
    Season 1Episode 4K-Pop20 min
    Season 1Episode 5Cryptocurrency14 min
    Season 1Episode 6Why Diets Fail15 min
    Season 1Episode 7The Stock Market18 min
    Season 1Episode 8eSports18 min
    Season 1Episode 9Extraterrestrial Life19 min
    Season 1Episode 10!15 min
    Season 1Episode 11Cricket17 min
    Season 1Episode 12Weed20 min
    Season 1Episode 13Tattoo19 min
    Season 1Episode 14Astrology18 min
    Season 1Episode 15Can We Live Forever?18 min
    Season 1Episode 16The Female Orgasm19 min
    Season 1Episode 17Political Correctness18 min
    Season 1Episode 18Why Women Are Paid Less19 min
    Season 1Episode 19The World's Water Crisis19 min
    Season 1Episode 20Music20 min
    Season 2Episode 1Cults26 min
    Season 2Episode 2Billionaires23 min
    Season 2Episode 3Animal Intelligence22 min
    Season 2Episode 4Athleisure17 min
    Season 2Episode 5Coding24 min
    Season 2Episode 6Pirates21 min
    Season 2Episode 7The Next Pandemic21 min
    Season 2Episode 8The Future of Meat24 min
    Season 2Episode 9Beauty17 min
    Season 2Episode 10Diamonds23 min
    Season 3Episode 1Sugar24 min
    Season 3Episode 2Royalty25 min
    Season 3Episode 3Flags26 min
    Season 3Episode 4Dogs20 min
    Season 3Episode 5The End of Oil24 min
    Season 3Episode 6Chess23 min
    Season 3Episode 7Your Skin22 min
    Season 3Episode 8Apologies21 min
    Season 3Episode 9Hurricanes21 min
    Season 3Episode 10Plastic Surgery21 min
    Season 3Episode 11Dance Crazes24 min
    Season 3Episode 12Time22 min
    Season 3Episode 13Country Music25 min
    Season 3Episode 14Fairy Tales25 min