Liberty! (1997)

  • Genre: Documentary
  • First Air Date: 1997-11-23
  • Last Air Date: 1997-11-25
  • Total Seasons: 1
  • Total Episodes: 6
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 60 min.
  • Production Company: Twin Cities Public Television
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Networks: PBS
  • Directors: Muffie Meyer, Ellen Giffard.
star 7.8/10
From 9 Ratings


Dramatic documentary about the birth of the American Republic and the struggle of a loosely connected group of states to become a nation.

  • Keywords: interview, miniseries, reenactment, american revolution, usa history, historical reenactment, early america
  • Liberty! Trailer

    Is Liberty! on Netflix?

    Is Liberty! on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.
    Follow us on Facebook to see when Liberty! becomes available on Netflix!

    Liberty! Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1997-11-23
    6 Episodes

    Liberty! Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Episode 160 min
    Season 1Episode 2Episode 260 min
    Season 1Episode 3Episode 360 min
    Season 1Episode 4Episode 460 min
    Season 1Episode 5Episode 560 min
    • Victor Garber

      as John Dickinson
    • Donna Murphy

      as Abigail Adams
    • Alex Jennings

      as King George III
    • Anthony Heald

      as Philip Vickers Fithian
    • Colm Feore

      as Alexander Hamilton
    • Peter Donaldson

      as John Adams
    • Stephen Lang

      as George Washington
    • Jefferson Mays

      as James Madison
    • Edward Herrmann

      as Narrator
    • Philip Seymour Hoffman

      as Joseph Plumb Martin
    • Jane Adams

      as Sara Scott
    • Jake Weber

      as Virginia Officer
    • Isiah Whitlock Jr.

      as Luke - Slave
    • Terrence Mann

      as General John Burgoyne
    • Mel Johnson Jr.

      as Jehu Grant
    • Paxton Whitehead

      as Horace Walpole
    • Remak Ramsay

      as Thomas Hutchinson
    • Forrest Sawyer

      as Self - Host
    • Campbell Scott

      as Thomas Jefferson
    • Roger Rees

      as Thomas Paine
    • James Naughton

      as Patrick Henry
    • Philip Bosco

      as Benjamin Franklin
    • Joris Stuyck

      as Johann Ewald
    • Jamison Selby

      as Southern Patriot
    • Steve Zahn

      as American Sergeant
    • Francie Swift

      as Baroness von Riedesel
    • Simon Jones

      as Ambrose Serle
    • Daniel Gerroll

      as General Charles Cornwallis
    • Roberta Maxwell

      as Mercy Otis Warren
    • Byron Jennings

      as John Hancock
    • JD Cullum

      as Nicholas Cresswell
    • Neil Maffin

      as Anti-Federalist
    • Stephen Temperley

      as Hector de Crevecoeur
    • Kali Rocha

      as Eliza Wilkinson
    • Mark Letheren

      as British Soldier
    • Douglas Weston

      as Sir George Collier
    • Austin Pendleton

      as Benjamin Rush
    • John Ellison Conlee

      as Col. Henry Knox
    • Andreas Beckett

      as Lieutenant Colonel Baum
    • David Bishins

      as Melancton Smith
    • Sebastian Roché

      as Marquis de Lafayette
    • Rob Campbell

      as Noah Webster
    • Ronald Guttman

      as Comte de Rochambeau
    • David Yelland

      as Edmund Burke
    • Mark Nelson

      as Loyalist
    • James Murtaugh

      as Anti-Federalist
    • Murphy Guyer

      as Benjamin Gilbert
    • Sam Tsoutsouvas

      as Hugh Ledlie
    Directing Muffie Meyer Director
    Directing Ellen Giffard Director
    Writing Ronald Blumer Writer