Hollywood Squares

Hollywood Squares (1966)

  • Genre: Comedy, Reality, Family
  • Creator: Merrill Heatter, Bob Quigley
  • First Air Date: 1966-10-17
  • Last Air Date: 1967-01-20
  • Total Seasons: 1
  • Total Episodes: 68
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Production Company: Orion Television
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Networks: NBC, Syndication
star 8.6/10
From 5 Ratings


Hollywood Squares is an American panel game show, in which two contestants play tic-tac-toe to win cash and prizes. The "board" for the game is a 3 × 3 vertical stack of open-faced cubes, each occupied by a celebrity seated at a desk and facing the contestants. The stars are asked questions by the host, or "Square-Master", and the contestants judge the veracity of their answers in order to win the game. Although Hollywood Squares was a legitimate game show, the game largely acted as the background for the show's comedy in the form of joke answers, often given by the stars prior to their "real" answer. The show's writers usually supplied the jokes. In addition, the stars were given question subjects and plausible incorrect answers prior to the show. The show was scripted in this sense, but the gameplay was not. In any case, as host Peter Marshall, the best-known "Square-Master" and the man in whose honor the show's first announcer, Kenny Williams, actually "coined" the term, would explain at the beginning of the Secret Square game, the celebrities were briefed prior to show to help them with bluff answers, but they otherwise heard the actual questions for the first time as they were asked on air.

  • Keywords: game show, celebrity, jackpot, money, championship, laughter, panel show, all stars, tic tac toe, prizes
  • Hollywood Squares Trailer

    Is Hollywood Squares on Netflix?

    Is Hollywood Squares on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Hollywood Squares Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1966-10-17
    68 Episodes

    Hollywood Squares Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 4Episode 1Sept. 22, 200330 min
    Season 4Episode 2Sept. 23, 200330 min
    Season 4Episode 3Sept. 24, 200330 min
    Season 4Episode 4Sept. 25, 200330 min
    Season 1998Episode 1Episode #1.130 min
    Season 1999Episode 104May 26, 199930 min
    Season 2001Episode 241Dec 3, 200130 min
    Season 2001Episode 243Dec 5, 200130 min
    Season 2003Episode 7May 1, 200330 min
    Season 2003Episode 38Sep 22 - 26, 200330 min
    Season 2003Episode 44Nov 3 - 7. 200330 min
    Season 2004Episode 83Apr. 26, 200430 min
    Season 2004Episode 84Apr. 27 200430 min
    • Peter Marshall

      as Self - Host