Evening Shade

Evening Shade (1990)

  • Genre: Comedy
  • Creator: Linda Bloodworth-Thomason
  • First Air Date: 1990-09-21
  • Last Air Date: 1994-05-23
  • Total Seasons: 4
  • Total Episodes: 100
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Production Company: Mozark Productions
  • Networks: CBS
star 5.1/10
From 10 Ratings


Evening Shade is an American sitcom television series that aired on CBS from 1990 to 1994. The series stars Burt Reynolds as Wood Newton, an ex-professional football player for the Pittsburgh Steelers, who returns to rural Evening Shade, Arkansas to coach a high school football team with a long losing streak. Reynolds personally requested to use the Steelers as his former team because he is a fan. The general theme of the show is the appeal of small town life. Episodes ended with a closing narration by Ossie Davis summing up the events of the episode, always closing with "... in a place called Evening Shade." The show's final episode saw the guest appearances of Willie Nelson and Buzz Aldrin as escaped convicts on the run from authorities, the final scene being a spectacular shoot-out reminiscent of the final scene of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. The opening segment included clips from around Arkansas, including the famous McClard's Bar-be-que, which is situated on Albert Pike Blvd. and South Patterson St. in Hot Springs National Park.

  • Keywords: american football, small town, arkansas, american football coach, high school, high school sports, sitcom
  • Evening Shade Trailer

    Is Evening Shade on Netflix?

    Is Evening Shade on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.

    Evening Shade Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1990-09-21
    24 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1991-09-16
    25 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1992-09-21
    25 Episodes

    Season 4

    First Air Date: 1993-09-20
    26 Episodes

    Evening Shade Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1A Day in the Life of Wood Newton60 min
    Season 1Episode 2There Once Was a Boy Named Wood30 min
    Season 1Episode 3Whatever Happened to Clutch Newton?30 min
    Season 1Episode 4Sadie Hawkins Dance30 min
    Season 1Episode 5Fast Women30 min
    Season 1Episode 6The Moustache Show30 min
    Season 1Episode 7All for Charity30 min
    Season 1Episode 8Something to Hold Onto30 min
    Season 1Episode 9Mr. Mom30 min
    Season 1Episode 10Hooray for Wood30 min
    Season 1Episode 11The Wood Who Stole Christmas30 min
    Season 1Episode 12Wood and Ava and Gil and Madeline30 min
    Season 1Episode 13Wood's Thirtieth Reunion30 min
    Season 1Episode 14Vote Early and Vote Often30 min
    Season 1Episode 15Chip Off the Old Brick30 min
    Season 1Episode 16The Trials of Wood Newton30 min
    Season 1Episode 17Into the Woods30 min
    Season 1Episode 18Nothing to Fear But Harvey Lujack30 min
    Season 1Episode 19Gambler Anonymous30 min
    Season 1Episode 20Sex Education30 min
    Season 1Episode 21I am Wood, Hear Me Roar30 min
    Season 1Episode 22Herman and Margaret Sitting in a Tree30 min
    Season 1Episode 23Far from the Madden Crowd30 min
    Season 1Episode 24The Baby Show30 min
    Season 2Episode 1Three Naked Men (Part 1)30 min
    Season 2Episode 2Three Naked Men (Part 2)30 min
    Season 2Episode 3I'm with Stupid30 min
    Season 2Episode 4Tying the Knot30 min
    Season 2Episode 5Miss Emily's Wild Ride30 min
    Season 2Episode 6The Road Trip30 min
    Season 2Episode 7Winning Isn't Everything30 min
    Season 2Episode 8Where's My Watch?30 min
    Season 2Episode 9I Do, I Don't30 min
    Season 2Episode 10The Thanksgiving Show30 min
    Season 2Episode 11Busted30 min
    Season 2Episode 12Rear Window30 min
    Season 2Episode 13The Getaway30 min
    Season 2Episode 14Herman in Charge30 min
    Season 2Episode 15The Au Pair Affair30 min
    Season 2Episode 16Goin' to the Chapel (Part 1)30 min
    Season 2Episode 17Goin' to the Chapel (Part 2)30 min
    Season 2Episode 18Goin' to the Chapel (Part 3)30 min
    Season 2Episode 19Play Herman for Me30 min
    Season 2Episode 20Callous Hearts of Rage30 min
    Season 2Episode 21Taylor Buys a Car30 min
    Season 2Episode 22Hasta la vista, Baby30 min
    Season 2Episode 23Cousin Readith30 min
    Season 2Episode 24No Pain, No Gain30 min
    Season 2Episode 25The Perfect Birthday Party, Sort Of30 min
    Season 3Episode 1First Heroes30 min
    Season 3Episode 2The Diary of Molly Newton30 min
    Season 3Episode 3You Scratch My Back, I'll Arrest You30 min
    Season 3Episode 4What a Night30 min
    Season 3Episode 5Father-Child Campout30 min
    Season 3Episode 6The Hole Story30 min
    Season 3Episode 7Harlan Deals a Meal30 min
    Season 3Episode 8The Resurrection of Wood Newton30 min
    Season 3Episode 9The NFL on CBS30 min
    Season 3Episode 10The Really Odd Couple30 min
    Season 3Episode 11Carl the Mule30 min
    Season 3Episode 12I'll Be Home for Christmas30 min
    Season 3Episode 13Freida and the Preacher30 min
    Season 3Episode 14Private School30 min
    Season 3Episode 15Ava Takes a Shower (1)30 min
    Season 3Episode 16Ava Takes a Shower (2)30 min
    Season 3Episode 17They Can't Take That Away from Me60 min
    Season 3Episode 18She What?!30 min
    Season 3Episode 19Another Baby Shower30 min
    Season 3Episode 20Cousins Behind Bars30 min
    Season 3Episode 21Mommy Goes AWOL30 min
    Season 3Episode 22Teaching is a Good Thing30 min
    Season 3Episode 23Saint Bobby30 min
    Season 3Episode 24The Graduation30 min
    Season 4Episode 1Four Naked Women30 min
    Season 4Episode 2One Down, Three to Go30 min
    Season 4Episode 3One Hot Game30 min
    Season 4Episode 4Witness for the Prosecution30 min
    Season 4Episode 5Kiss of the Ice Cream Woman30 min
    Season 4Episode 6Night of the Living Newtons30 min
    Season 4Episode 7The Dance30 min
    Season 4Episode 8Wood and Evan's Excellent Adventure30 min
    Season 4Episode 9Small Town Girl30 min
    Season 4Episode 10Where There's Smoke30 min
    Season 4Episode 11Chain of Fools30 min
    Season 4Episode 12Sleepless in Arkansas30 min
    Season 4Episode 13The Proof is in the Pudding30 min
    Season 4Episode 14The People's Choice30 min
    Season 4Episode 15Educating Calvin30 min
    Season 4Episode 16Paint the Town Nude30 min
    Season 4Episode 17The Perfect Woman30 min
    Season 4Episode 18It's a Mad, Mad, Mad Wood30 min
    Season 4Episode 19The Fabulous Frazier Girls30 min
    Season 4Episode 20I Did, I Did30 min
    Season 4Episode 21Mr. Newton Goes to Hot Springs30 min
    Season 4Episode 22Who's Afraid of the Big Bad Wood?30 min
    Season 4Episode 23Wood Climbs to New Heights30 min
    Season 4Episode 24Mama Knows Best30 min
    Season 4Episode 25The Odder Couple30 min
    Season 4Episode 26I Left My Ring in Evening Shade30 min
    • Burt Reynolds

      as Wood Newton
    • Marilu Henner

      as Ava Evans Newton
    • Hal Holbrook

      as Evan Evans
    • Charles Durning

      as Harlan Elldridge
    • Ann Wedgeworth

      as Merleen Elldridge
    • Michael Jeter

      as Herman Stiles
    • Jay R. Ferguson

      as Taylor Newton
    • Ossie Davis

      as Ponder Blue
    • Candace Hutson

      as Molly Newton
    • Elizabeth Ashley

      as Freida Evans
    • Jacob Parker

      as Will Newton
    Production Linda Bloodworth-Thomason Producer