Robin of Sherwood

Robin of Sherwood (1984)

The definitive version of the story.

  • Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Drama, Action & Adventure
  • Creator: Richard Carpenter
  • First Air Date: 1984-04-28
  • Last Air Date: 1986-06-28
  • Total Seasons: 3
  • Total Episodes: 26
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 60 min.
  • Production Company: HTV Cymru Wales
  • Networks: ITV1
star 7.493/10
From 76 Ratings


Robin of Sherwood was a British television series, based on the legend of Robin Hood. Created by Richard Carpenter, it was produced by HTV in association with Goldcrest, and ran from 1984 to 1986 on the ITV network. In America it was retitled Robin Hood and shown on the premium cable TV channel Showtime and on PBS. The show starred Michael Praed and Jason Connery as two different incarnations of the title character. Unlike previous adaptations of the Robin Hood legend, Robin of Sherwood combined a gritty, authentic production design with elements of real-life history, 20th century fiction, and pagan myth. The series is also notable for its haunting title music by Clannad, which won a BAFTA award.

  • Keywords: england, robin hood, vigilante, nottingham, sherwood forest, middle ages (476-1453), arch, 12th century
  • Robin of Sherwood Trailer

    Is Robin of Sherwood on Netflix?

    Is Robin of Sherwood on Netflix? Unfortunately this serie is not yet available on Netflix.
    Follow us on Facebook to see when Robin of Sherwood becomes available on Netflix!

    Robin of Sherwood Seasons

    Season 1

    First Air Date: 1984-04-28
    6 Episodes

    Season 2

    First Air Date: 1985-03-09
    7 Episodes

    Season 3

    First Air Date: 1986-04-05
    13 Episodes

    Robin of Sherwood Episodes

    Title Air Date Duration
    Season 1Episode 1Robin Hood and the Sorcerer (1)60 min
    Season 1Episode 2Robin Hood and the Sorcerer (2)60 min
    Season 1Episode 3The Witch of Elsdon60 min
    Season 1Episode 4Seven Poor Knights from Acre60 min
    Season 1Episode 5Alan a Dale60 min
    Season 1Episode 6The King's Fool60 min
    Season 2Episode 1The Prophecy60 min
    Season 2Episode 2The Children of Israel60 min
    Season 2Episode 3Lord of the Trees60 min
    Season 2Episode 4The Enchantment60 min
    Season 2Episode 5The Swords of Wayland (1)60 min
    Season 2Episode 6The Swords of Wayland (2)60 min
    Season 2Episode 7The Greatest Enemy60 min
    Season 3Episode 1Herne's Son (1)60 min
    Season 3Episode 2Herne's Son (2)60 min
    Season 3Episode 3The Power of Albion60 min
    Season 3Episode 4The Inheritance60 min
    Season 3Episode 5The Sheriff of Nottingham60 min
    Season 3Episode 6The Cross of St. Ciricus60 min
    Season 3Episode 7Cromm Cruac60 min
    Season 3Episode 8The Betrayal60 min
    Season 3Episode 9Adam Bell60 min
    Season 3Episode 10The Pretender60 min
    Season 3Episode 11Rutterkin60 min
    Season 3Episode 12The Time of the Wolf (1)60 min
    Season 3Episode 13The Time of the Wolf (2)60 min
    • Jason Connery

      as Robert of Huntingdon, Robin Hood
    • Judi Trott

      as Lady Marion of Leaford
    • Ray Winstone

      as Will Scarlet
    • Clive Mantle

      as Little John
    • Peter Llewellyn Williams

      as Much
    • Mark Ryan

      as Nasir
    • Phil Rose

      as Friar Tuck
    • Nickolas Grace

      as Robert de Rainault, The Sheriff of Nottingham
    • Robert Addie

      as Sir Guy of Gisburne
    • John Abineri

      as Herne the Hunter
    • Philip Jackson

      as Abbot Hugo de Rainault
    Production Paul Knight Producer
    Production Patrick Dromgoole Producer